To strengthen the community through arts and culture


To be the central resource for the arts by inspiring a creative life for all


Accessibility: Making the arts available to everyone regardless of their ability

Diversity: Embracing and enabling our diverse culture

Inclusion: Inviting everyone to participate and be better together

Collaboration: Engaging key partners in the process

Excellence: Delivering quality with integrity in everything we do

Strategic Objectives

Serve the Community

Cultivate a Creative Network

Foster and Develop Young Talent

Expand Quality of Place

Areas of Focus

Visual Art

Painting, Drawing, Photography, Sculpture, Public Art


Graphic Design, Textiles, Furniture, Architecture


Dance, Theatre, Music

Literary Art

Poetry, Spoken Word


Independent, Documentary

Cultural Equity Statement

With a vision “to be the central resource for the arts by inspiring a creative life for all,” CAAC is committed to providing everyone access to the arts. We are actively shaping a creative community that is inclusive, diverse and equitable, welcoming participation regardless of race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, age, or religion.


Board of Directors

Mike Elwood



Eric Neal

Vice President

Matthew Sullivan 


Rebecca Ellis



Julie Del Genio

Discretionary Officer

Amy McCormick

Cheryl Miles-Vieth

Diane Robbins


T. Kelly Wilson


Kathryn Armstrong

Ex-officio, Executive Director

CAAC Staff

Kathryn Armstrong

Executive Director​

Kris Roberts

Operations Manager

Susana Villegas

Program Coordinator


Priscilla Rocha

Community Outreach Intern


Emma Nolting

Youth Arts Intern

Design/Media Team

Brooke Hawkins

Graphic Designer​



In 1972 the Driftwood Valley Arts Council was formed. In 1989 the Driftwood Valley Arts Council and The Commons staffs were combined into the Columbus Area Arts Council under one board of directors.

The Columbus Area Arts Council is a leading arts agency in Bartholomew County, partnering with state, regional and local organizations to bring the arts to everyone. CAAC is a not-for-profit corporation supported by public and private donations, the City of Columbus, the Indiana Arts Commission and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Funding & Sponsorship


CAAC is a non-profit organization supported by private and public donations, the City of Columbus, the Indiana Arts Commission, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Annual Reports